Library Displays

Library Displays: January 2017

Bulletin Board

img_7053

img_7058

img_7059

Circulation

img_7027

img_7055

img_7060

img_7056

Display Case

img_7099

img_7098

img_7097

img_7083

img_7084

Reference Desk

img_7025

img_7057

Young Adult Book Display

img_7087

img_7085

img_7086

 I had so, so much fun creating the displays for January. Snow was a major theme for this month and, as we’ve received so little, I warned my coworkers that the snow from the displays would either keep it at bay . . . or, we’ll find ourselves buried in the white stuff IRL.

The bulletin board was inspired by this window display. I used the polar bear from January + February 2015 and our AccuCut machine to make the “falling” snowflakes. One of my coworkers used her creative talents to make the unique flakes for the board. Try as I might, cutting snowflakes is something I will never master! I always cut the wrong side and it ends up falling apart. But hers are fantastic! And she totally free-hand the cuts too! Amazing.

Oh, and do the tree branches remind you of anything? I used this template after attempting and failing to create something using Publisher.

And, of course with January being the start of a new year, I used this banner for above the circulation desk. For the stars, metallic paper and our AccuCut. I added a few strands of snow too to tie into the bulletin board.

I couldn’t not keep the fireplace up! It’s been frigidly cold here recently and I thought it would be the perfect welcoming piece to our lobby. Instead of the cozy holiday display of last month, I changed the reds and greens out for the blues and the cotton snowflakes of last year. Our staff picks displays have been extremely popular in the past and I thought the first of the year would be the perfect time to share our favorite reads with our patrons.

When I saw this little guy I knew I needed to create a display around him. And, when it’s as cold as it is, there is “snow” better time to read!

Initially, the display I was going to create for the book display was going to be about “branching out” and reading a new genre. But the more I thought about it, the more I discovered it’d be a little tricky to do with our YA collection. Since I generally try to put a variety of books on display each month, it felt a little redundant. So I returned to the drawing board and came up with the display I created. Many people like setting resolutions or discovering ways to better themselves with the start of the new year. I requested books not only on how to better yourself, but also inspirational stories and collections on ways you can be impactful within your community.

 We’re currently working on the February displays and I’m especially excited for the bulletin board. I can’t wait to share!

1 thought on “Library Displays: January 2017”

  1. Youre so cool! I dont suppose Ive read anything in this way before. So nice to find somebody with a few original applying for grants this subject. realy appreciate starting this up. this excellent website is something that is required on the net, a person with some originality. helpful work for bringing something totally new on the world wide web!

Leave a Reply

