NaNoWriMo

NaNoWriMo: Week 2

NaNoWriMo is halfway through and it’s time for Week 2’s check-in. How are you doing? Better than I did, I hope! Last week I shared my Week 1 update where I created a time table for my word count. Sad to say, this past weekend flew by with nary a word in sight. But you know what? That’s okay by me!

Instead of writing, I was able to work on my house and complete a project that was ninety years in the making. My mom came down on Friday to help me move items from my basement, and on Saturday, Corey’s mom and step-dad were here to so that he could replace the main drain of my home with updated PVC piping.

At some point (prior to my purchase) someone updated the main drain in the basement just beyond the point where all the other systems (bathroom sink, toilet, bathtub) connect, to PVC. Yet they left the original cast iron elbow pipe and vertical pipe to the roof intact. A few years ago, a crack developed in the cast iron that began to leak anytime I ran water in my kitchen sink. Which made the art of dishes a difficult one. I was left to do dishes either in a plastic tub to collect the water that I then drained down the toilet or wash larger items like pasta pots in the tub. Ah, old houses. They’re just so much fun…

P.S. I can tell you for certainty, that ninety years of sludge does not smell like roses. Ooof.

By the end of the day Saturday, I was able to once again use my kitchen sink the way it was meant to be used. It’s such a great feeling to be able to tick off these major home repairs and know each one brings this old lady closer to her market date. And I’m so thankful that I have people in my life with the knowledge and the willingness to help. It makes all the difference.

So I plan to do some extra homework at night on my WIP and try to get myself caught up for next week’s goal. Best of luck to you on your own goals!

1 thought on “NaNoWriMo: Week 2”

Leave a Reply

