Genealogy, Kennaley

The Mystery Continues…UPDATE

Late Tuesday night, after I finished viewing a webinar on searching for occupational records to expand knowledge of ancestors and their daily lives, I took a complete left turn, and decided to spend a few minutes browsing FamilySearch for possible records regarding the Murphys.

By sheer, dumb luck, Hanorah’s name was the last that I had clicked on, however long ago that was. So, I returned to her profile, where lo and behold, is a death record attachment which lists the name “Dugon” for her mother.1  At least that answers the question of where Duggan, or Dugon arrived. And rather than update the extremely long post of yesterday, I decided to begin anew.

Since the updating of FamilySearch years ago, I haven’t used it as frequently as I should. A few months ago, I took a webinar about using the various features of FamilySearch (there are so many!) but it still didn’t prompt me to do further searches. That’s something I plan to remedy as (and as I recently discovered) they have access to records that Ancestry does not. Bonus: FamilySearch is a free site. Does it get better than that?

Sources: 

1“Iowa, County Death Records, 1880-1992,” database, FamilySearch(https://familysearch.org/ark:/61903/1:1:QVJP-GM88 : 29 October 2015), Honorah Kennaley, 15 Jan 1908; citing Death, Neola, Pottawattamie, Iowa, United States, page 29, offices of county clerk from various counties; FHL microfilm 1,477,205.

1 thought on “The Mystery Continues…UPDATE”

Leave a Reply

