Library Displays

Library Displays: May 2016

Bulletin Board

IMG_5328

IMG_5329

Circulation

IMG_5352

Display Case

IMG_5366

IMG_5367

IMG_5368

Reference Desk

IMG_5324

Young Adult Book Display

IMG_5331

IMG_5330

IMG_5332

Aah, the calm before the Summer Reading Program storm. We’ve been getting into gear here at the library for all the reading, programs, and prize-awarding fun!

The bulletin board this month was a variation of my “May the 4th” board from last year. R2-D2 is my favorite Star Wars character because he’s just so friggin sassy all the time. When I spotted this on Pinterest, I knew that was the board for May. I saved the R2-D2 that one of my past volunteers drew so he took center stage. My heart went pitter-patter every time I heard a kid go: AH! It’s Star Wars!

What I thought was going to be the perfect quote to display above the desk turned into a nightmare. I made the letter waaaay too big and so they migrated their way down onto the cabinets as well. And I have to say, it’s not my favorite. The pink is too much and I feel like it looks like a blob falling from the ceiling. But, live and learn!

For most of May, the display case held the Common Soil display from last month. I was waiting for our Summer Reading Program prizes and information so once they arrived I quickly put together a display. Our program is very similar to last year’s: kids, teens and adults need only read for 10 hours and once completed, kids and teens are eligible for a prize pack with their choice of book, water bottle, and coupon sheet to local businesses and two tickets to a Stormchasers baseball game!

The Reference Desk is a slight variation to last month’s display as well. I added the words and a few flowers but kept the book and butterflies.

The graphic novel Young Adult Book Display is one that I’ve wanted to do for some time and I thought May would be a great month for it. Graphic novels are checked out frequently at our branch so it’s been one of the more popular book displays.

Leave a Reply

