Library Displays

Library Displays: March 2016

Bulletin Board

IMG_4761

Circulation

IMG_5061

Display Case

IMG_4954IMG_4956IMG_4957

Reference Desk

IMG_4961

Young Adult Book Display

IMG_4958IMG_4960IMG_4959

I’ve been thoroughly enjoying the wonderful stretch of warm days that we’ve had recently. Spring is in the air and it has me feeling completely re energized. So, that’s probably why this month, I went with a very green theme. With both St. Patrick’s Day and Easter this month, the ideas quickly came.

The bulletin board was a cinch to put together. We’ve had a lot of luck with promoting our events on the board and since I was already planning an Easter theme I decided to incorporate our Easter Egg Hunt program. I stumbled upon both the basket graphic with Easter eggs and the separate eggs in a Google search and loved all the bright colors.

I’ve done St. Patrick theme banners above the circulation desk in years past, and I knew I wanted to give another nod to my Irish roots this year. I found a display that used the saying and thought it was perfect. I’ve had many people chuckle at the word play and agree with the saying.

Last year, I put a display together featuring our seed library, Common Soil. But this year, I thought it would be the perfect place for a Women’s History Month display. I requested a number of materials available for checkout, and a co-worker lent me a collection of postcards that she had used in a previous display. I absolutely love the banner in the background!

   I found so many fun graphics for Dr. Seuss, that I had a difficult time selecting which ones to use! In the end, I went with ones that could be easily cut out. I love how many kids have commented on the display. And even a few adults have asked about it!

The Young Adult book display was so much fun to put together. Initially, I tried finding a list of books that had green covers, before I just went into the stacks and began pulling what we already had. With a few gold “coins” cut from our Accu-cut machine, and a quick rainbow above, the display was complete.

I hope you all had a happy and safe St. Patrick’s Day, and I wish you all a Happy Easter!

2 thoughts on “Library Displays: March 2016”

Leave a Reply

