Library Displays

Library Displays: November 2015

Bulletin Board

IMG_4032

IMG_4033

IMG_4034

Circulation Desk

IMG_4035

IMG_4036

Display Case

IMG_4038

Reference Desk

IMG_4037

Young Adult Book Display

IMG_4024

IMG_4022

IMG_4020

IMG_4021

         I went into November with ideas for many of my displays so it was super easy to put everything together.

My original idea for the bulletin board was to incorporate football, but when one of my coworkers asked if we could promote our upcoming princess party I was all about it! Until I began searching for ideas and became really freaked out about the power of the Disney trademark. So I decided upon using the silhouette of the princesses who would be visiting us. Kids know who they are, but they’re are no faces involved. Win win! I ended up printing this pumpkin carriage on black paper and then traced over it with a gold Sharpie and I love the way it turned out!

 After cutting out those “Trick or Treat” letters for last month’s banner, I wanted something nice and simple for November. “Gobble up a good book!” was exactly what I needed. And the turkey reading a book was a nice touch!

I was contacted in the beginning of October by the Nebraska Children’s Home Society to see about creating a display in November for National Adoption Month. They dropped off some pamphlets and information and I requested a few books about adoption to display.

For the Reference Desk, I knew I wanted something simple, but something that related to Thanksgiving. When I came across this simple “Give Thanks” banner on Pinterest, I knew it was exactly what I was looking for.

And finally, the pièce de résistance! I was a little stuck for ideas for the Young Adult board for November. That is, until I spied this old-timey “No Shave November” banner. I found a template of different mustaches and one of my awesome volunteers cut them out and attached them to the covers. She did such a phenomenal job! Looking at this display was one of the few things that helped lift my spirits! It just cracks me up!

I’m eagerly planning my December displays (YAY, Christmas!) and I can’t wait to share them with you!

3 thoughts on “Library Displays: November 2015”

Leave a Reply

