Library Displays

Library Displays: September 2015

Bulletin Board

IMG_3680

Circulation

library_card_sign_up_0

IMG_3639

Display Case IMG_3636

IMG_3637

IMG_3638

Reference Desk

 IMG_3640

Young Adult Book Display

 IMG_3688

IMG_3689

IMG_3690

I started my September display search with a serious lack of motivation. I was so bored with everything that I saw that I was having a difficult time coming up with ideas. August was nearly over before I was able to come up with anything!

Because it’s the most wonderful time of the year: FOOTBALL IS BACK! I had originally planned a football themed bulletin board. But as I was talking with one of my co-workers, she had asked what I was doing for September. She told me that they had planned a Mo Willems party for the first week in October and was wondering if we could advertise Mo Willems on our board to promote the party.
Heck yes! If you’re unfamiliar with his works, you should definitely check them out! I think one of the biggest perks to working at a very children’s oriented branch is that you get to see so many darling kids books! Seriously, today’s kids have a literal smorgasboard of adorable characters and stories to choose from.

And during my many, many Pinterest and Google searches for September ideas, I learned that September is actually library card sign-up month! I’ve worked in a library for ten years and had no idea.

September is also when our library hosts “Omaha Reads” where one book is selected and programs and events are built around the book to create a city-wide bookclub. This year’s selection is “Eleanor & Park” by local author, Rainbow Rowell. I found so many great images on Pinterest and was able to put together a super simple but super sweet display.

Ah, fall. What better way to celebrate the crisp autumn air than with a big stack of books and a massive sized mug of pumpkin spice coffee? I can’t think of anything better.

September also holds one of my favorite displays: Banned Books Week. Banned Books Week celebrates the freedom to read and draws attention to the harms of censorship. This year is celebrating banned and challenged YA books. One of my co-workers requested a fantastic list of titles for the YA display board and with a lot of volunteer help, I was able to make this fiery display.

2 thoughts on “Library Displays: September 2015”

Leave a Reply

