Genealogy, Siglin

Siglins of America, Unite!

I love researching family names and discovering that all people in the United States named “so-and-so” descend from one family. I love the exclusivity of knowing I have an uncommon surname in my tree and it truly makes researching the line all the more easier because I know that those so-and-so’s are most likely my relatives. It’s just a matter of discovering how we’re related. My Wildrick line is supposedly that way, although I’ve yet to discover where we fit into the genealogical collection of the family name.

So when I decided to take a look at the maternal lines on my paternal side I was pleased to discover that all Siglin’s in the United States are reported to be descended from one Johannes Siglin. He was born in Württemberg, Germany. And in 1753, Johannes and his wife, Anna, and children: Johannes, Johannes Georg, Johannes Jacob Heinrich “Henry”, Anna, and Anna Justina immigrated to the colonies of North America aboard the ship, Richard and Mary, which docked in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. It’s there he took The Oath of Allegiance to the Province and State of Pennsylvania.

Book Reference - Siglin Johannes I
photo from Ancestry

I wondered if my Siglin line would also be descended from Johannes. And so I began my Siglin search with the generations closest to me, my third great-grandmother, Mary Siglin. She was married to Royal Riley Wright, whose tragic end I wrote about a few months ago. Here is a photo of Mary from Ancestry:

Photo from Ancestry

Although, I have to wonder if this is actually my 3x great grandmother Mary Siglin. She was born 3 August 1837 which would place this photo in the 1850s. This photo appears to me to be more from the 1920s or 1930s based on hair style and clothing, as well as the clear photograph but I could be wrong.

Another photo from Ancestry of Mary circa 1890:

Photo from Ancestry

I do see some similarities between the two women. The shape of the face and hairline, but perhaps the above photo is of one of Mary’s daughters or granddaughters. Anyone have any input?

I continued traveling deeper into the Siglin branches, using census records to verify family and began researching her father, Jacob.

Picture1
Jacob Siglin. Photo from Ancestry

He was born in Chestnut Hill, Northampton County, Pennsylvania on 19 Jul 1810. He lived in Chestnut Hill before moving west where he settled in Sycamore, DeKalb County, Illinois. He was one of the first settlers of the area and amassed 213 acres of land which was valued at $10,650 in 1902 at the time of his death. In today’s money, that sum would be equivalent to $295,833.33.

Picture2
red highlighted portion reflects Jacob’s land. Map from Ancestry.

To go back into the next generation took some doing. Jacob’s father was Johan Jacob Siglin, b. 8 Jul 1783 in Chestnut Hill, Northampton County, Pennsylvania. (Although he too went by the name Jacob, to lessen confusion I shall refer to him as Johan Jacob.) But because the early census records only recorded the head of household’s name and the remaining family members received a hash mark on their coordinating sex and age. So while I can guess and who the hash marks may represent, it isn’t always the most accurate way of verifying relations. Luckily, there were military records available.

The first military record I found was for a War of 1812 Pension application that Johan Jacob’s widow, Susan (Susannah Singer) applied for.

1812
photo from Ancestry. Note: lists his service commander

I was unable to locate a date for the filing of this record, but as Susannah is listed as his widow, I can assume it was filed following Johan Jacob’s death in 1838.

 But it was with the next record that I was able to prove direct lineage to Johan Jacob Heinrich “Henry” Siglin, and thus, to Johannes Siglin. It was a membership application to the Sons of the American Revolution.

dar
above photo from Ancestry

While the above document diverts down a different branch than my family, I searched the Daughters of the American Revolution ancestor database to find answers to my lineage. It restricts data information about any possibly living descendants but it does connect the dots from Henry to Johan Jacob to Jacob. And there it brought me right back to where I started my research with Mary. Using the 1850 Federal Census, I know that Isaiah was a brother to my 3x great grandmother, Mary. Now, to gather all of this documentation and submit my own request to the DAR!

dar
from DAR descendants listing

2 thoughts on “Siglins of America, Unite!”

Leave a Reply

