Library Displays

Library Displays: August 2015

Bulletin Board
IMG_3419

Circulation

IMG_3430

Picture1

Picture2

Display Case

IMG_3420

IMG_3421

IMG_3422

Reference Desk
IMG_3423

Young Adult Book DisplayPicture12

IMG_3424

IMG_3425

IMG_3427

IMG_3426

I’m so excited for August! Back-to-school was always one of my favorite times of year. I loved shopping for new clothes and school supplies.  A new (school) year meant endless possibilities. What classes would I take? What friends would I have? What adventures would we go on? Even today when I pass by the rows of new notebooks and pens a little shiver of excitement runs up and down my spine. And nothing beats cracking open the front cover of a notebook to begin a new journal.

August is the perfect time to take a few moments to write down your goals for the coming months. Maybe there were things you had hoped to accomplish by now. Revisit these goals and see if there are new steps you can set in place in order to accomplish them. This year for my birthday, I purchased a new notebook in the hopes that I will be better about journaling. It’s a past-time I really enjoy, and one I feel really helps me be more in tune with my emotions and better understand myself.

But I digress. Let’s talk about August Library Displays! Because I did back-to-school displays last August, I wanted to do something a little different this year. While I was browsing on Pinterest for ideas, I found picture of Pete the Cat, rocking in his school shoes, and I thought it was perfect for our bulletin board. So many kids have  said, “It’s Pete!” when they come into the library after story time.

  I was searching for different August holidays and discovered that August 9th was Book Lover’s Day. So of course I made a sweet little display for the holiday! But why celebrate on just one day? Shouldn’t every day be Book Lover’s Day?

So many of my colleagues have August birthdays and when I was thinking out loud about what to do for our display case, one of them mentioned doing a display of books by authors who also have August birthdays. Done!

People (and kids especially) have really enjoyed the decorations that I’ve placed on our dingy Reference Desk. It really brightens up the desk and I think makes it seem more welcoming for questions. When I saw this saying on Pinterest, I thought it would be a perfect way to end our summer months.

And finally, the Young Adult book display. Last year I did a display of books about returning to school or college prep materials so this year I decided to do a display of books that were recently published as well as books that would be published in the coming months.

Leave a Reply

