Writing

The Times They Are A Changin’…and so is the blog!

You may have noticed that the barefoot writer just got an update! Yay!

cropped-image6.jpg

This weekend while I was working on editing, I mentioned to the bf how I was wanting to create a logo for the site, something with an arrow and a feather pen and my initials, and he graciously offered to draft something up. Well, what he was expecting to be a fifteen minute task turned into an hour and a half and draft after draft! Sorry, I’m so picky boo, but the finished product looks fantastic in my opinion and I’m so grateful for the time you spent working on it!

So why all those items? What does it all mean? Let’s get symbolic shall we!

Well, to begin with, when I created the blog, I had no notion that the words all began with the same lettering. My name, and the blog name. Total “der” moment, I know, but I really picked barefoot writer because that’s when I’m at my most comfortable, barefoot and connected to the earth. However, the more I signed in and wrote posts, the more this fact came to my realization. (I also like this play on words here: Last name Wright. And I write. Bad writer pun.) And so what better way to represent myself and the blog than with the initials for both myself and my blog?

The idea for this logo is one I’ve been rolling around in my mind, letting it get nice and marinated, for quite a few months now. I had my initials selected, now how would I represent them?

I wanted something simple, with clean lines and little fuss. And with that, my mind kept returning to the addition sign, or cross symbol. I did a little symbolic homework this weekend, and found that this symbol is called the Greek cross, and that, while it represents the four directions of the earth, it also has a hidden esoteric meaning where each of the four directions correspond with a zodiac: Aquarius, Scorpio, Taurus, and Leo and that each of these represent one of the four elements: air, water, earth, and fire. (Side note: my zodiac is Leo as is one of my best friends; two other best friends are Taurus and Scorpio, and my brother is Aquarius. Fun little fact that made my jaw drop.) Personally to me, that + symbol represents so much: the left arm = the past; the top = the present; the right arm = the future; and the bottom = the afterlife, or soul.

The arrow, and especially this beautiful one the bf found, means to me forward movement. That each day I’m moving myself closer and closer to my goals. I want to be able to go to bed at night and note something I did that day that will show forward progress. Because forward is the only direction that an arrow can go. Once released from the bow, the arrow is shooting forward into the unknown. And while the unknown might be a scary place to go, it is always an adventure, and in my opinion, the best way to truly learn oneself.

And finally, the feather. As a writer, I thought that there was no better way to represent the vertical branch of my cross than with a lovely feather pen. One of the original writing instruments that has always intrigued me, and quite honestly, desired. (Because, seriously, how pretty is this and this?!) I read this fantastic interview with author Paul Coelho where he says that he he does not begin work on a new project until a white feather crosses his path. I finished the article with that profound idea branded into my brain. And it wasn’t too long after that that I too discovered a white feather. (And they’ve been appearing quite frequently since then I might add!) I’ve been eager to begin my next project, but there was still so much yet to do to make sure Mary Morton and her history is complete. I’m now nearing the finish line with that manuscript and hope to use NaNoWriMo to begin work on another.

I hope you all find this logo as beautiful as I do!

And thank you all for taking the time to read, like, and share my posts! It means the world to me!

Leave a Reply

