Library Displays

Library Displays: May 2015

Summer is the busiest time for the library, with our Summer Reading Program, so many of my April displays carried over into May so that I could focus on planning the Summer displays for June and July. My two changes were the bulletin board in the kids’ area and the reference desk. I had so much fun planning and creating these displays! I hope you enjoy!

Bulletin Board

IMG_2841

This bulletin board was a major hit! Nearly every child (and many adults!) stopped and wowed over the board. One of our regular dad’s even posted a picture to his Facebok and he said it had a ton of likes! I’m so thankful to have such talented volunteers. Not only did they put the board up, they actually drew R2-D2 and Yoda free hand. Crazy awesome. This is one bulletin board that will be used again and again!

Reference Desk

IMG_2977

In planning the display on the reference desk, I knew I wanted to make a garden, and thought a quote along with the garden would look adorable. It took some time, but when I found this quote by Charles Macklin I knew it was the one! I only wish I had taken a picture as soon as it was put onto the desk because we had some busy little hands pick flowers from the paper garden!

This year’s Summer Reading Program theme for kids is “Every Hero Has a Story”, “Unmasked” for teens, and “Escape the Ordinary” for adults. I’ve had so much fun plotting displays for this summer, and I have a few ideas that I’m currently working on. I I’ll post the finish products sometime in June!

1 thought on “Library Displays: May 2015”

Leave a Reply

